Welcome to my crib

Today I thought it would be a nice idea to show you where I live and since the weather was great today, Mandy I and I decided to take advantage of that by going out to take pictures of the neighbourhood we live in.

One of the first things you see when you come to Whitehawk is an huge wall with some pretty impressive graffiti, when reading the graffiti we can conclude the Whithehawk library used to be there.

I would like start by telling you that finding a place to live in Brighton isn’t the easiest thing to do. Brighton is a very expensive city because it’s close to London and of course because it’s a seaside resort, I can imagine this place being full with tourists in summer. Then there’s the fact that most letting agents only do at least a 6 month contract and we’re only here for 4 months. Mandy found this place online, well actually she was going to have a look at a different room but got lost, and the property manager told her he had something else close to where she was. Mandy and I didn’t want to share a room, this place also had another room available and this way neither of us would end up alone somewhere else. We signed our contracts and started moving in our stuff on Thursday the 9th of February, the next day we moved in and slept in our new rooms for the first time.

In the picture below you can see my room, as you can see it’s quite small, however I’d like to point out that Mandy’s room is even smaller. It has a bed, a night stand, a small closet and a chair in it. Since I didn’t bring a duvet, pillow or anything like that with me to England, I had to buy those things. Several people told me that I should go to Asda in the marina village, I’d never heard of Asda before but I turned out it’s like those supermarkets in France, where they basically have everything. When I say everything I literally mean everything,  from food, to fashion, to electrical appliances to cosmetics and all not that expensive. I paid around 5 pounds for a duvet and a little more than 2 pounds for 2 pillows. To cheer up my room I bought a very girly and floral bedding set at Primark and to add some cosiness I bought a scented candle in a floral tin, this is probably by far the girliest room I’ve ever had. In the top right corner you can see my keys with the beautiful key ring my friend Ilse gave me.

I also took some pictures of the view, I can see a primary school and hills out of my bedroom window.

Well this is where I live, next post will probably be about the university.

Love,
Kelly

10 comments

  1. Really interesting to see an outsiders view of our city. Whitehawk has a pretty rough reputation do be careful – although its not too bad. Make sure you take an open top bus to devils dyke to see the wonderful view, hang gliders, kites on a nice sunny day in Spring. There is a bar right at the top too! http://www.brighton-hove.gov.uk/breezebuses.

  2. Your new place is SO cute! Can’t wait to see more pictures. ❤

  3. Irving Scheffer · · Reply

    Talk about the students version of Cribs haha. Well there’s one upside to it all, which is the view and the fact that you have an awesome roommate so you don’t spend all day in your room. Also, you, a girlie-esque room, ha, amazing!

    1. Somehow the celebrity version of Cribs is much more interesting, probably because I have far less to show you.

  4. Ziet er erg leuk uit Kel! Ziet er ook uit als een mooi dorp :), En je kamer mag dan wel klein zijn, maar het ziet er wel gezellig uit 😀 xx

    1. Dankje, het is klein maar fijn 😀

  5. Ilse Scheers · · Reply

    Heee meis, wat leuk! Gaaf om te zien waar je nu zit, echt leuk! 🙂 Inderdaad niet groot, maar ‘t ziet er heel netjes uit allemaal… en dat dekbed…. WAUW!!!!!! die is zó superschattig! *I like* ❤ En leuk om te zien dat de kippen-sleutelhanger goed van pas komt 🙂 Zitten jullie trouwens vlakbij de universiteit? Of moet je nog 'n stuk met trein/bus? Liefs, kus X en we gaan snel een keer groepsskypen, jij, pat, mer en ik! Gezelliggggg!

    1. Leuk hè, mijn zusje mag hem hebben als ik thuis kom. Mijn kamer is inderdaad heel netjes en schoon, van de rest van het huis heb ik nog maar geen foto’s gemaakt want we zijn nog niet helemaal klaar met de grote schoonmaak, het is nu gelukkig wel bewoonbaar. Ik woon met de bus ongeveer een uur van de universiteit af, want ik moet naar de Falmer campus, een van de 6 (!) campussen van the Univsersity of Brighton. Maar de bussen rijden hier best vaak en zoals je op de foto’s kon zien kan ik vanaf bovenaan de straat gewoon de zee zien, dus dat is ook wel gaaf.

      1. Ilse Scheers · ·

        Oh dat valt mee gelukkig, net zoiets als dat je hier van Duuve naar Nijmegen moet 😉 Wel lekker dat je zo dichtbij de kust woont joh! Laat het mooie weer maar komen; studieboekje mee (als tafeltje, hahaha) wijntje, parasolletje, voeten in ‘t zand en dan te bedenken dat je er nog studiepunten voor krijgt ook 😉 hihihihi Ben nu onderhand wel benieuwd naar die woonkamer, die zo’n grote schoonmaak nodig had… hihihi 😉 X

      2. Inderdaad, het had veel erger gekund. Haha ik denk niet dat het zo ver komt. Het is trouwens niet de woonkamer die zo erg is, meer de badkamer en keuken, de woonkamer gebruiken we toch amper. We zitten meestal in Mandy’s bezemkast onder de trap te chillen.

Don't be shy, leave a comment!

