Empties #1 Products I’ve Used Up

I’ve seen Vivianna Does Makeup do videos about products she’s used up and I thought it would be nice to show you products I’ve emptied and tell you if I’m going to repurchase them or if I’d rather try something else. So I hoarded all my empty products until I thought I’d have enough to write about in a blogpost.

Dr Brandt Pores No More Moisturizer is the most expensive moisturizer I’ve ever tried. I was recommended to be because I have oily skin. Unfortunately even Dr Brandt couldn’t keep my face completely oil-free during the day and considering that I paid €50,90 for this I was disappointed .
Will I buy it again?  Probably not because it’s expensive and I didn’t prevent my skin from getting oily during the day.

Lush Lemony Flutter cuticle butter is a product I can’t live without, not literally of course, you get my point. It’s more than just a great cuticle butter, it’s perfect for dry skin anywhere on my body, I like to use it on my feet, knees, elbows and not surprisingly, my cuticles. Lemony Flutters smells very fresh and has a very thick, buttery consistency that does tend to melt when its hot. I like to carry it around with me in my purse so I can put it on my cuticles when I need to although I don’t it around in the black pot, I always put a bit in a smaller container from a travel-bottle set. Don’t forget to save up your empty black pots from Lush because when you bring 5 empty and cleaned black pots to Lush you’ll get a fresh face mask for free!
Will I buy it again? I’ve already repurchased it 😉

MAC Mineralize Skin Finish Natural in Medium Dark is my favourite everyday face powder. The name already gives it away, this powder gives a very natural finish to your skin. Medium dark is the almost the perfect colour for my skin, it only has a slightly warmer undertone than my skin tone.
Will I buy it again? I’ve already repurchased it 😉

MAC Studio Fix Powder Foundation in C4 is a powder foundation that is recommended to people with oily skin. This is one of the first products I ever bought at MAC. At first I really liked it, the colour matches me perfectly and it covers really well for a powder however there’s one huge downside to this product: it transfers like crazy. When I wear this powder it transfers on my scarf, on my clothes when I decide to change them, my friends when I hug them and I could go on about this for a while. Basically it’s a great powder, when your face doesn’t touch anything at all.
Will I buy it again? No, I don’t like products that transfer that easily.

Urban Decay Primer Potion (trial-size) is an eyeshadow primer that comes in packaging shaped like a potion bottle and has a doe-foot applicator. I works really well and makes my eyeshadow last all day, the only negative thing I can say is that this product is not very hygienic, however, Urban Decay already solved that problem, there now is a newer version of this primer that comes in a squeeze tube.
Will I buy it again? Maybe, because I’m also tempted to try something else.

Make Up Forever Sense’ Eyes make-up remover is a eye make-up remover that is so kind to my skin. I have rather sensitive eyes and this make-up remover removed my make-up in such a gentle and soft way and it even removes waterproof make-up. I got this one as part of a Make Up Forever set, I was surprised it was actually blue, often only the bottle is blue and the actual product white. The only downside to this product is the price, Make Up Forever products are quite expensive.
Will I buy it again? Maybe, I really liked it but it’s very expensive.

Valentino Rock’n Rose perfume was my favourite perfume for a while because it’s not too heavy for everyday use. The top notes are: blackcurrant, bergamot and green note. The middle notes are: muguet, gardenia, orange blossom and rose. Lastely the base notes are: heliotrope, sandalwood, musk, orris and vanilla. I don’t have a talent for describing scents, all I can say is I really enjoyed wearing this perfume and I often got compliments when I was wearing it.
Will I buy it again? Although I really like this perfume I will probably try something else.

I hope you enjoyed reading this post. Shall I do posts like these more often? I now need a new eyeshadow primer, would you recommend Urban Decay Primer Potion, Too Faced Shadow Insurance or something else?

Love,
Kelly

8 comments

  1. hay kelly je hebt mooie dingen op je blog . xxx

    1. Dankjewel Noa, maar deze zijn al op 😉

  2. great post! I’ve never tried Urban Decay’s eyelid primer but I swear by Too Faced’s Shadow Insurance. It’s a tube bottle so you don’t have to worry about that and my eyeshadow ends up lasting all day without a crease (cream or dry shadows) It’s definitely worth a try in my opinion 🙂

    1. Thank you! I have to agree that I would prefer a bottle that is more hygienic so Too Faced Shadow Insurance might be worth checking out, thank you for the recommendation.

  3. If you have very oily lids I would recommend you to try the NARS eyeshadow primer, I have a post on it if you want to check it out http://organizedjrnl.wordpress.com/2012/06/15/bye-bye-shadow-meltdown/ great post btw.

    1. Thank you 😉 The only problem is that they don’t sell Nars in The Netherlands, I’ll check it out next time I’m on holiday.

  4. The new UD Primer Potion packaging is so much better. I can vouch for that. I also recommend trying new and different perfumes every once in a while. I rarely buy the same perfume twice. Keeps it interesting. ❤

    1. I love trying different perfumes too, I’ll probably buy a replacement for this one soon. Shall I just buy UD Primer Potion in the new packaging or do you recommend a different primer? xoxo

Don't be shy, leave a comment!

